IFJ Gender Council elects its new executive committee

IFJ gender council members elected on 11th June their new executive committee. The vote took place as the council convened for its general meeting on the side of IFJ Congress in Tunis.

IFJ Gender Council Steering Committee (2019-2022). Credit: Frederic Moreau de Bellaing

Spanish journalist Maria Angeles Samperio from FAPE was elected as chair while Tunisian Faouzia Ghiloufi from SNJT becomes vice-chair of the steering committee.

Members also elected 2 representative for each IFJ region.

The first meeting of the newly elected committee will be held this autumn.

Elected members of hte IFj Gender Council Steering committee (2019-2022)


Maria Angeles Samperio Martin (FAPE – Spain)


Ghiloufi Faouzia (Tunisia)


Maria Beatriz Perez Sanchez (Costa Rica)


Steering Committee

  • Europe

Natalia Golosnova (Russia)

Sofia Branco (Portugal)

  • Middle East

Reema Masroujeh (Palestine)

Ahdeya Ahmed Al Sayed (Bahrain)

  • Africa

Kadiatou Thierno Diallo (Guinea)

Marion Obam Mahel (Cameroon)

  • Asia-Pacific

Samim Sultana Ahmed (India – IJU)


  • Latin America

Adriana Hurtado (Colombia)

Pilar Teijero (Uruguay)


  • North America

Jennifer Moreau (Canada – UNIFOR)

Adrienne Gibbs (USA- NWU)










For more information, please contact IFJ on +32 2 235 22 16

The IFJ represents more than 600,000 journalists in 146 countries

Follow the IFJ on TwitterFacebook and Instagram

Subscribe to IFJ News