The IFJ presents the 2003 Natali Prize Jury

The deadline for submitting entries to The 2003 Natali Prize for Journalism: Excellence in Reporting Human Rights, Democracy and Development closed on 31 May.

This year the IFJ received some 320 entries from more than 80 countries. The entries have now been processed and allocated to the Jury, which this year is composed of the following nine media experts:

Ms Adriana Cerretelli, foreign correspondent for Il Sole 24 Ore (Italy)
Ms Véronique Kiesel, senior journalist with Le Soir (Belgium)
Ms Katja Ridderbusch, foreign correspondent for Die Welt (Germany)
Ms Filomena Silva, Editor-in-Chief of A Semana (Cabo Verde)
Mr Mikel Aguirre, freelance journalist and former Vice-President of the International Press Association (API) (Spain)
Mr Sunanda Deshapriya, senior journalist and convenor of the Free Media Movement (Sri Lanka)
Mr Nawab Khan, Bureau Chief of the Islamic Republic's News Agency in Brussels (India)
Mr Max Römer, Director of the School of Journalism at the Universidad Andréas Bello (Venezuela)
Mr David Thomas, senior journalist with International Market News (Great Britain)

The Jury will meet in Brussels on 25 July, where they will select one winner and two runners-up from each of the five regions covered by the award as well as an overall winner of the 2003 Natali Prize.

The nominees will be announced on our website in the beginning of August.

All prize nominees will be special guests of the IFJ at the prize-giving ceremony at the International Press Centre Résidence Palace in Brussels on 2 October, where Mr Poul Nielson, EU Commissioner for Development and Humanitarian Aid, will present each prize winner with a Natali Prize Trophy and a financial award of €10,000. An additional Gold Medal Award will be awarded to the overall winner of the 2003 Natali Prize.

The full Jury Report will be posted on our website immediately after the ceremony.