Global Media Freedom Conference: new pledges not credible without action, press freedom groups say

On 9 July, the International Federation of Journalists (IFJ) and 32 other press freedom and media development organisations met in London in advance of the Global Media Freedom Conference to call on all participating States to ensure the protection and safety of all journalists and media workers in compliance with their existing obligations and international standards.

IFJ Tunis Congress 2019. Credits: Frédéric Moreau de Bellaing

The group, representing and working with hundreds of thousands of journalists and media workers, said new pledges will only be credible if States immediately:

  • Release all imprisoned journalists;
  • Stop killing, attacking and denigrating journalists;
  • Investigate and prosecute all murders of journalists.

The group demands all States hold themselves and their counterparts accountable and show demonstrable progress. Several States attending the Conference currently have journalists in prison and unsolved murders.

The group put forth 11 recommended commitments for States attending the Global Media Freedom Conference, hosted by the governments of the United Kingdom and Canada.

IFJ Deputy General Secretary, Jeremy Dear, who is attending the conference, said: "As governments meet in London, instead of more words, journalists demand action. Today states could release hundreds of jailed journalists, states could take action to prosecute all those who murder, attack and harass journalists. No more empty pledges, we need action". 

List of organisations that signed the declaration:

Alliance for Journalists’ Freedom - Peter Greste. p.greste@uq.edu.au +44 7467 478469
ARTICLE 19 - Thomas Hughes thomas@article19.org +44 7850 573561
Association of European Journalists
Centre for Freedom of the Media           
CFI, French Media Development Agency
Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) - Courtney Radsch cradsch@cpj.org +1-212-300-9032
Commonwealth Human Rights Initiative
Commonwealth Journalists Association
DW Akademie
English PEN
European Centre for Press and Media Freedom (ECPMF) - Lutz Kinkel, kinkel@ecpmf.eu
Freedom House
Free Press Unlimited (FPU) - Leon Willems, willems@freepressunlimited.org, +31613111694
Fundación para la Libertad de Prensa (FLIP)
Global Forum for Media Development (GFMD)
Global Voices - Ivan Sigal ivan@globalvoice.org
Gulf Centre for Human Rights (GCHR)
International Center for Not-for-Profit Law (ICNL)
International Federation of Journalists (IFJ) - Jeremy Dear Jeremy.dear@ifj.org +32 479077194
International Media Support (IMS)
International Press Institute (IPI) - Barbara Trionfi btrionfi@ipi.media +43 699 10257062
International Women’s Media Foundation (IWMF) - Nadine Hoffman nhoffman@iwmf.org
Internews - Daniel Bruce dbruce@internews.eu / press@internews.org
Media Diversity Institute - Milica Pesic milica.pesic@media-diversity.org, +44 7990971564
Media Legal Defence Initiative (MLDI)
Palestinian Center for Development and Media Freedoms (MADA) - Mousa Rimawi m.rimawi@madacenter.org
PEN America
PEN International
Reporters Without Borders - Thomas Friang tfriang@rsf.org
Rory Peck Trust
Samir Kassir Foundation - SKeyes Center for Media and Cultural Freedom
South Asia Media Defenders Network
World Association of News Publishers (WAN-IFRA) - Andrew Heslop andrew.heslop@wan-ifra.org

For more information, please contact IFJ on +32 2 235 22 16

The IFJ represents more than 600,000 journalists in 146 countries

Follow the IFJ on TwitterFacebook and Instagram

Subscribe to IFJ News