Media Asosiesen blong Vanuatu Elects Executive Committee

Media Release: Vanuatu

July 2, 2013

The International Federation of

Journalists congratulates the newly elected members of the Media Asosiesen

blong Vanuatu (MAV) Executive Committee.  The 8 member Executive Committee was elected at the MAV Annual General

Meeting on 30th May, 2013.

  • Evelyne Toa, President (Deputy Editor, Vanuatu Independent/Freelance Journalist)
  • Jane Joshua, Vice President (Journalist, Vanuatu Daily Post)
  • Harold Obed, Secretary (Australian High Commission)
  • Antoine Malsungai, Treasurer (Journalist, Vanuatu Broadcasting and Television Corporation)
  • Ericka Emelee, Vice Secretary (Journalist, FM107/Vanuatu Times)
  • Terence Malapa, Vice Treasurer (Journalist, Buzz FM)
  • Wilson Toa (PACMAS)
  • Abong Thompson (Director, Vanuatu Cultural Centre).

We are particularly pleased to

note that 3 of the Committee’s executive positions are held by women and a

representative from the Vanuatu Cultural Centre (VKS). The VKS is the key

custodian of media content documenting Vanuatu's cultural heritage.

The term of the new Committee is

two years. During that time the Executive Committee will assess the MAVs work

over the past two years and revise the organisation’s strategic plan to better

serve its objectives during this term and beyond.

The MAV constitution was also

amended during at the AGM, to include assurances that membership more

appropriately reflects the range of occupations within the changing media

industry in Vanuatu.


became a new affiliate of the International Federation of Journalists in

2013.  They are the first organisation to

become an IFJ affiliate from the Pacific islands.




For further information contact IFJ Asia-Pacific on +612 9333 0950

The IFJ represents more than 600,000 journalists in 131 countries

Find the IFJ on Twitter: @ifjasiapacific

Find the IFJ on Facebook: