IFJ Names 16 World Class Journalists in Line-up for 50,000 Euro Natali Prize Awards

The International Federation of Journalists has announced a shortlist of 16 world-beating pieces of journalism that are in line for five 10,000 Euro awards in this year's Natali Prize for reporting on human rights, democracy and development issues.

Awards and cash prizes will be presented to the winners from Africa, Asia, the Middle East, Latin America and Europe at a special ceremony to be held at the International Press Centre Residence Palace in Brussels on November 15th.

"This year's prize has had a record-breaking intake with top-quality entries from around 80 countries," said Aidan White, General Secretary of the IFJ, which organises the prize in co-operation with the European Union. "We have journalism of the highest quality on show from many of the world's great newspapers."

The short listed candidates have been invited to Brussels where the winners' names remain a closely guarded secret. "This is a great opportunity to pay tribute to excellence in journalism," said Aidan White. "Everyone on the shortlist deserves recognition. They have emerged as the best from a rich and extraordinary field of talented writers and reporters."

The candidates are:


Raymond ARCHER (Ghana) for his 3 articles "Ex-Minister in deportation scam", "Tragedy of youth deported for cash" and "Swedish Minister resigns over Amarki scam" published in The Ghanian Chronicle.

Caroline SORGHO (Burkina Faso) for her article "Le Burkina, pivot d'un odieux commerce" published in L'Evénement.

Mervin Sibbuyu SYAFUNKO (Zambia) for his article "The untold story of the Gwembe" published in The Monitor Newspaper.

Asia and the Pacific

Rommy FIBRI (Indonesia) on behalf of the TEMPO News Magazine team for their report "Sex, Lies and Entertainment".

Asha KRISHNAKUMAR (India) for her article "Weavers in distress" and the follow-up story "For the weavers" both published in Frontline.

Annam SURESH (India) for her 16 articles on child trafficking and child prostitution published online on Wahindia.


Henrik BRUN and Ulrikke MOUSTGAARD (Denmark) for their 5 articles about Danish peacekeepers' exploitation of trafficked women in Kosovo published in Information.

Paul CULLEN (Ireland) for his 2 articles "Fleeing the tragic state of Nigeria" and "The trade that means misery by the cargo" published in The Irish Times.

Karin STEINBERGER (Germany) for her article "Die verkauften Kinder von Poipet" published in Süddeutsche Zeitung.

Latin America and the Caribbean

Julio César BENEGAS VIDALLET (Paraguay) for his 5 articles about how underaged Brazilians are illegally enrolled in the military service in Paraguay.

Irma DEL VALLE ALVAREZ ROJAS (Venezuela) for her 3 articles "Atrapados en La Roca", "No olvidarán lo que vieron" and "El chichero no llegó a la plaza" published in Diario El Universal.

Mauri KÖNIG (Brazil) for his article "Mentira encobre crime no quartel" published in O Estado Do Paraná.

Mário MAGALHÃES (Brazil) for his article "A história de Alexandre" published in Folha de São Paulo.

North Africa and the Middle East

Sihem BENSEDRINE (Tunisia) for her article "Internet, la navigation sous haute surveillance" published online on Kalima.

Maher CHMAYTELLI (Lebanon) for his articles "Cultural Forums: Pseudonyms for Syria's new political activities" and "Syrian MP's arrest part of plan to muzzle dissent" published in Middle East Times, Daily Star de Beyrouth and Middle East Online.

Yahia Asad SHUKKEIR (Jordan) for his articles "Comments on the New Internet Centers Regulations" and "Confirming its Illegality" published in Al Arab Al Yawm.

The shortlist was drawn up by nine jury members: Majella Anning, a former broadcaster now with Amnesty International; Angela Castellanos, freelance writer from Colombia; Elisabeth Costa, President of the Federation of Brazilian Journalists; Maria Laura Franciosi, Italian correspondent for Agenzia Nazionale Stampa Associata; Bettina Peters, Director of Programmes at the European Journalism Centre; Mohammad-Mahmoud Ould Mohamedou, Research Director of the International Council on Human Rights Policy, Geneva; Ibrahim Nawar, journalist and leader of Arab Press Freedom Watch; Mohamedou Mahmoud Faye, journalist with Le Soleil, Senegal; and Christian Wernicke, reporter for Süddeutsche Zeitung.