New office bearers of Free Media Movement

Media Release: Sri Lanka

July 2, 2013

The International Federation of

Journalists congratulates the newly elected office bearers of Sri Lanka’s Free

Media Movement (FMM). The elected positions were announced at the 21st annual

general meeting of the FMM was held on May 28th 2013 at the Auditorium of the

Sri Lanka Press Institute (SLPI).

Convenor - Sunil Jayasekara

Secretary - Kumara Alagiyawanna

Treasurer - Azam Ameen


Secretary - Dileesha Abeysundara


Committee Members

1. Seetha Ranjanee

2. Udaya Kalupathirana

3. B. M Murishideen

4. Sidath Mendis

5. C. Dodawatta

6. Ananda Jayasekara

7. Sujeewa Senarath

8. R. Shadagopan

9. Sampath Samarakoon


C.J. Amaratunga

K.W Janaranjana


Free Media Movement of Sri Lanka was established in 1991 to critique and

respond to moves by the government of the time to introduce a Media Commission

to Sri Lanka. The organisation has since been active in all areas relating to

media freedom, defending the rights of journalists and media people, calling

for the reform of repressive legislation, agitating

against censorship and intimidation of media personnel and standing for broad

principles of democratic and human rights.

For further information contact IFJ Asia-Pacific on +612 9333 0950

The IFJ represents more than 600,000 journalists in 131 countries

Find the IFJ on Twitter: @ifjasiapacific

Find the IFJ on Facebook: