The IFJ and the European Commission Reward the Best in Global Journalism

Five top-class journalists from Africa, Asia, Europe, the Middle East and Latin America will be honoured by the International Federation of Journalists and the European Commission at a special prizegiving ceremony to be held at the International Press Centre Residence Palace in Brussels on Friday 15th November. They are the winners of the 2002 Lorenzo Natali Prize for Journalism, which is presented to the cream of reporting human rights, democracy and development.

The Natali Prize was established by the European Commission in 1992 to promote quality journalism and to commemorate the dedication of former Vice-President of the European Commission, Lorenzo Natali. Since 1999 the prize has been administered by the IFJ, the world's largest organisation of journalists, which represents 500,000 journalists in more than 100 countries.

The Lorenzo Natali Prize is awarded to print and/or on-line journalists who have demonstrated a striking insight and particular dedication to the reporting of human rights issues within the context of development. Each winner will receive a trophy and a cash prize of 10,000 Euro.

The Prizes will be presented by Poul Nielson, Commissioner of the European Union for Development and Humanitarian Aid.

Guest speakers at the prizegiving include:

Dr. Mohammad-Mahmoud Ould Mohamedou, Research Director at the International Council on Human Rights Policy

Ibiba DonPedro, Journalist at The Guardian, Nigeria, former winner of the Lorenzo Natali Prize for West Africa

Ibrahim Nawar, Director of Arab Press Freedom Watch

Christopher Warren, President of the International Federation of Journalists

The following journalists have been selected by an independent jury for a Lorenzo Natali Prize:


Raymond Archer (Ghana) for his 3 articles "Ex-Minister in deportation scam", "Tragedy of youth deported for cash" and "Swedish Minister resigns over Amarki scam" published in The Ghanian Chronicle.

Caroline Sorgho (Burkina Faso) for her article "Le Burkina, pivot d'un odieux commerce" published in L'Evénement.

Mervin Sibbuyu Syafunko (Zambia) for his article "The untold story of the Gwembe" published in The Monitor Newspaper.

Asia and the Pacific:

Rommy Fibri (Indonesia) on behalf of the TEMPO News Magazine team for their report "Sex, Lies and Entertainment".

Asha Krishnakumar (India) for her article "Weavers in distress" and the follow-up story "For the weavers" both published in Frontline.

Annam Suresh (India) for her 16 articles on child trafficking and child prostitution published online on Wahindia.


Henrik Brun and Ulrikke Moustgaard (Denmark) for their 5 articles about Danish peacekeepers' exploitation of trafficked women in Kosovo published in Information.

Paul Cullen (Ireland) for his 2 articles "Fleeing the tragic state of Nigeria" and "The trade that means misery by the cargo" published in The Irish Times.

Karin Steinberger (Germany) for her article "Die verkauften Kinder von Poipet" published in Süddeutsche Zeitung.

Latin America and the Caribbean:

Julio César Benegas Vidallet (Paraguay) for his 5 articles about how underaged Brazilians are illegally enrolled in the military service in Paraguay.

Irma Del Valle Alvarez Rojas (Venezuela) for her 3 articles "Atrapados en La Roca", "No olvidarán lo que vieron" and "El chichero no llegó a la plaza" published in Diario El Universal.

Mauri König (Brazil) for his article "Mentira encobre crime no quartel" published in O Estado Do Paraná.

Mário Magalhães (Brazil) for his article "A história de Alexandre" published in Folha de São Paulo.

North Africa and the Middle East:

Sihem Bensedrine (Tunisia) for her article "Internet, la navigation sous haute surveillance" published online on Kalima.

Maher Chmaytelli (Lebanon) for his articles "Cultural Forums: Pseudonyms for Syria's new political activities" and "Syrian MP's arrest part of plan to muzzle dissent" published in Middle East Times, Daily Star of Beirut and Middle East Online.

Yahia Asad Shukkeir (Jordan) for his articles "Comments on the New Internet Centers Regulations" and "Confirming its Illegality" published in Al Arab Al Yawm.

The Prizegiving Ceremony on Friday 15th November begins at 10 am and will take place in the Polak room on the ground floor of the International Press Centre, Résidence Palace, rue de la Loi 155, 1040 Brussels. The event is open to the general public.