Awards for Women Journalists

Call for Elizabeth Neuffer Fellowship Promoting Human Rights Journalism

The International Women's Media Foundation is calling for applications for the Elizabeth Neuffer Fellowship, named for 1998 IWMF Courage in Journalism Award winner and Boston Globe correspondent who was killed in Iraq in May 2003. This program, created with Neuffer's family and friends, aims to perpetuate her memory and advance her life's mission of promoting international understanding of human rights and social justice.

One woman journalist will be selected to spend an academic year in a tailored program with access to Boston-area universities as well as The Boston Globe and The New York Times. The flexible structure of the program will provide the fellow with opportunities to pursue academic research and hone her reporting skills covering topics related to human rights. The fellow will also have a key role in the Elizabeth Neuffer Forum, an annual program to be scheduled each May.

The Elizabeth Neuffer Fellowship is open to women journalists whose focus is human rights and social justice. A successful applicant will be dedicated to a career in journalism in print, broadcast or Internet media and will show a strong commitment to sharing knowledge and skills with colleagues upon the completion of the fellowship. Excellent written and spoken English skills are required. Expenses, including airfare and housing, will be covered.

Applications will be accepted until March 31, 2006.

The fellowship winner will be announced in May 2006, and the fellowship will run from September 2006 - May 2007.

The International Women's Media Foundation was launched in 1990 with a mission to strengthen the role of women in the news media worldwide, based on the belief that no press is truly free unless women share an equal voice. The IWMF network is more than 1,500 women in the media in more than 130 countries worldwide.

For further information, visit or e-mail

Applications are available at

Inviting nominations for Chameli Devi Award 2005-06 (for Indian nationals)

The Media Foundation invites nominations for the Chameli Devi Jain Award For an Outstanding Woman Mediaperson in India, 2005-06.

Nominations should be accompanied by four or five samples (clippings, tapes, cassettes, pictures) of work done between February 2005 and February 2006, together with the names of two referees with full address/email and phone numbers and a statement setting out why the work merits recognition. Self-nominations may also be made. However, all candidates must have been in the profession for at least three or more years.

The entries will be placed before an independent jury whose adjudication shall be final.

The last date for entries is February 25, 2006.

Works will be judged on the basis of excellence in terms of content, style, social concern, initiative, pioneering effort, investigative and analytical worth, courage and similar positive qualities. Other things being equal, preference will be given to small town/rural and smaller media.

Nominations, with complete postal and email addresses and telephone numbers should be sent to


30 Ferozshah Road,

New Delhi-110001.

The award will be announced a little prior to its presentation on March 30, 2006 in Delhi. For clarifications write to