Iran: Tehran journalists’ association expands to become national association

The Tehran Province Journalists’ Association approved a name change and increased its scope of activity to become the "National Association of Journalists" during its General Assembly earlier this month.

Iranian journalists working. Credits: ATTA KENARE / AFP

Members of the newly-elected Board of Directors held their first meeting on Sunday, June 20.

Hassan Namakdust Tehrani was elected president and Davood Mohammadi as vice president. Tabassum Namazi was elected Secretary and Nafise Zare-Kohan as treasurer.

173 members took part in the general assembly and approved the name change and expanding the scope of the association’s activity. Members elected a new board of seven directors - Tabassum Namazi, Kambiz Norouzi, Hassan Namakdoost Tehrani, Davood Mohammadi, Azam Wismeh, Pejman Mousavi and Nafiseh Zarekhan.

Abbas Nakhaei and Mina Shahni were also elected as alternate members and Giso Faghfouri and Lily Farhadpour were chosen as the new inspectors of this association

For more information, please contact IFJ on +32 2 235 22 16

The IFJ represents more than 600,000 journalists in 146 countries

Follow the IFJ on TwitterFacebook and Instagram

Subscribe to IFJ News