IFJ and FAJ Mourn Three Journalists Killed in Accident in Nigeria


The International Federation of

Journalists (IFJ) and its African regional group, the Federation of African

Journalists (FAJ), today mourn three journalists who were killed in an accident in Nigeria,

and have expressed their deepest sympathies to the ten other survivors.


According to IFJ and FAJ affiliate, the Nigeria Union of Journalists

(NUJ), members of the Nigeria Union of Journalists

from Lagos and Oyo States were involved in a motor accident on

Friday, August 2. The delegation left Abuja earlier on August 2 after a meeting

at the NUJ National Secretariat and their car had an accident between Ile Ife and Ilesha in Osun State (south

west). All the victims in the accident had been transferred from Ilesha General Hospital to the Teaching

hospital in Oshogbo by the Osun State Government.


NUJ later learnt of the death of Adolphous

Okonkwo, of the Voice of Nigeria (VON) and its National Financial Secretary,

Olatunde Ojenike, of Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN) Chairman of Radio

Nigeria Ibadan Network Centre Chapel, and Afayat Odunsi of the Nigerian

Television Authority (NTA), while doing their duty for the NUJ. 


“On behalf of the IFJ, we express our

shock at the tragic news of the car crash. We are all grievously pained by the

sad loss of the three NUJ members.  We hope that the outpouring of

sympathy that NUJ is receiving is some consolation at this very sad time. The

IFJ, and many of its affiliates, have lost active and vibrant colleagues which

makes it even harder to comprehend their death,” said Jim Boumelha, IFJ

President in a condolence message sent to Mohamed Garba, President of Nigeria

Union of Journalists and also President of the Federation of African

Journalists (FAJ).


Nine (9) journalists and the bus driver survived

the car crash.  They are Abdulkareem Fatimah National Treasurer of NUJ,

 Deji Elumoye, Chairman, Lagos state Council  and a staff of 

This Day Newspaper, Gbenga Opadotun, Chairman, Oyo state Council and a staff of

Nigerian Tribune,  Silva Okereke, Secretary , Lagos state Council and a

staff of Champion Newspaper, Bimbo Oyetunde, Chairperson Radio Nigeria Ibadan

Network Centre Chapel,  Momoh Adamson  of Voice of Nigeria,

  Banji Oluwalana of  NTA, Victoria Island, Uzogbu

Christopher  of  Voice of Nigeria and Bolaji Akeem of NTA, Channel 7.



“We wish a speedy recovery to all the

injured, in particular to sister Fatimah. They are in our thoughts and we hope they

will get back to their usual selves soon,” Boumelha



For more

information, please contact IFJ on + 221 33 867 95 86/87



represents more than 600.000 journalists in 134 countries